School Curriculum

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum was changed in 2014 and we are teaching to the new Government guidelines. Click on the links to read more information. The National Curriculum is split into two key stages.

  • Key Stage 1 (KS1) – Years 1 & 2;
  • Key Stage 2 (KS2) – Years 3, 4, 5 & 6

In our school we have mixed classes. Currently we have a mixed reception/Y1 class. Y1/Y2 class, Y3/Y4 class and a Y5/Y6 class. This means that children are taught to their age and ability in these classes and teachers cover all the areas of the curriculum.


essentials curriculum content

Each subject area has yearly objectives. All targets are expected to be covered and met by children at the end of their Key stage.


We teach the National Curriculum through a topic based themes.

Phonics and Reading

Phonics and reading in KS1 is taught through Active Learning- Phonics bug. Children are taught daily interactive phonics lessons which include videos, games and assessments.

The reading books are also from Active Learning- Bug Club. Children have hard copy of books to borrow from school but can also read them online at home answering comprehension questions.

In Ks2 children can access bug club books to read online. There are also free reading books in all classrooms for children to access.

Every class has daily guided reading sessions which also include comprehension tasks.

Religious Education (RE)

Religious Education is taught based on the guidelines of the Chester Diocese. We teach RE lessons but also have RE days which the children, staff and Governors like to all take part in.
RE_Guidelines Chester Diocese


SPaG lessons are taught throughout the week. We use Active Learning- Grammar and Spelling to teach interactive lessons which include new information, games and assessments.

Spelling is to be taught using NC spelling year lists.

Vocab Y1 to Y6
Y3 & 4 Word List
Y5 & 6 Word List

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – Reception

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

For more information on what the EYFS curriculum means for your child, visit the Early Years Foundation Stage website.

EYFS Documentation